Tattersalls: Vet Gone Eventing Turned Groom…

After the huge disappointment of Ali not being able to go to Tattersalls, I decided to go for the experience of travelling horses by ferry and helping groom for Nick.  I had got the time booked off work and thought otherwise I would just be sat here looking at her in the field!! I travelled out with the horses and very experienced groom Alex Van Tuyll, which was great to learn the ropes of travelling horses by ferry and means I would be happy taking ours out in the future if needed.

Nick didn’t arrive until the Wednesday morning so on Tuesday I was lucky enough to hack both boys: Cairnside Sir Alex who was competing in the CCI** and The Court Jester in the CIC***  During the week I was able to do plenty of watching of all phases as well as the riders working in – it was interesting to see their routines and what was done with the horses on the days they weren’t doing any competition.  It was good to have time to walk all the courses too.  The facilities and atmosphere at Tatts are amazing and I most definitely aim to be back next year (maybe even with Donovan in the CIC***….)  My parents came to Ireland too as their B+B was already booked and on the Thursday we went to Fairyhouse races – unbelievably we had 2 winners winning 140 euros – this NEVER happens…

Alex performed consistently in all 3 phases, jumping double clear for 11th in the CCI**

Cairnside Sir Alex looking smart working in for the 2* dressage

Cairnside Sir Alex looking smart working in for the 2* dressage

Alex cross country

Alex cross country

Alex giving the show jumps plenty of height!

Alex giving the show jumps plenty of height!

But unfortunately after a lovely dressage, Jester didn’t show jump as well so was withdrawn from the XC… the ups and downs of eventing!!

Jester working in for his dressage test

Jester working in for his dressage test

Jester in his test

Jester in his test

I also seem to be improving in my photography skills haha!! I got some great photos in the show jumping, which I will put up on my facebook page when I get round to it along with a few photos of the courses.

Ali still isn’t quite right (although extremely bright when I hacked her!!), which at least confirmed to me that I made the correct decision – I am hopeful that she will be ok in time for her Novice Regional Final run at Salperton later this month.  I have entered Donovan for the Advanced Intermediate here: AI dressage, advanced SJ and intermediate XC – stepping him up a level and hoping to get qualified for Advanced in his next 2 runs so that we can go to the Intermediate Championships at Gatcombe in August!!  There are many top horses entered in the class too… including the winner of Badminton 2014!!

Leave a Reply

