Somerford CIC** Report… we’re going to Osberton!!

Somerford kindly gave me Saturday dressage times as I couldn’t get the Friday off work so a bit of a rush to get everything all ready to stay the night and bikes packed too!!  This was to be our second CIC** and I had really been working on keeping the forwardness and relaxation so that Donovan stayed out to the contact in the dressage, especially in the lateral work.  Although he was still a little spooky (no change there then) and made a minor mistake at the end he scored his best international score yet with 44.4 – despite the judges disagreeing by more than 10%!!!  I was really pleased with 16th out of 105 starters in this phase 🙂

IMG_2593

Many thanks to Hoof Prints Photography for this photo www.hoofprintsphotos.co.uk

Many thanks to Hoof Prints Photography for this photo http://www.hoofprintsphotos.co.uk

 

To see a video of our dressage test click here.

We got him settled into his stable and walked the XC, which looked great with plenty of good big galloping fences but also some tricky questions including some nasty looking corners (which always give me the wobblies but I am getting better…)  Then it was back for pizza and bed!

To see course photos click here.

We had show jumping mid morning and it was a big track causing a reasonable few problems.  I was so cross with myself into the first fence – after having a good canter I let him dribble into it and take the back rail.  I took a deep breath, kicked on and told myself to get on with it…. funnily enough he then jumped superbly around the rest of the course even helping me out and the double where we were rather way off the first element!

s

Many thanks to Hoof Prints Photography for this photo http://www.hoofprintsphotos.co.uk

 

See our SJ round here.

Onto the XC, he was feeling fab and really up for it but I knew I would need to be on the ball and get him listening for the first major combination at fence 6 and 7ab.  We saw a fantastic galloping stride to the hedge at 5 and he came back beautifully popped the corner on a “short one” as planned, turned well and flew the double of angled hedges – I was thrilled with him but a long way to go still!  He skipped round the middle part of the course including the coffin and water – all felt easy despite a slightly dodgy stride a the ditch-hedge (can see on video).  The last 2 corners, especially the 2nd one were my next big concern – I had told myself to just ride it like a skinny as from a few strides out that is what it looked like!  I got the turn albeit with a little head toss and kicked on over the corner – brilliant!  Now just to stay on our feet over the last few, which we did and he felt quite fresh to finish still with 10.4 time – a little more than I’d hoped for but the clear was the most important thing!

The corner at 6 just before the 2 angle hedges, which you can see on the left turn ~ where Mark Todd is standing!!

The corner at 6 just before the 2 angle hedges, which you can see on the left turn ~ where Mark Todd is standing!!

Donovan over the corner at Fence 6 Many thanks to Hoof Prints Photography for this photo www.hoofprintsphotos.co.uk

Donovan over the corner at Fence 6
Many thanks to Hoof Prints Photography for this photo http://www.hoofprintsphotos.co.uk

 

To see some XC clips click here.

So now we are qualified for CCI** and will hopefully be headed for Osberton 🙂

In other news Ali went to her first outing in ages today scoring 72+% at BD elementary, then a slightly tense medium test with some mistakes meant a lower score in her second (I think she only wanted to do 1 test and get on with some jumping!!)  I hope this is the light at the end of the tunnel and finally she is getting over this virus/cough, which has ruined our season.

2 thoughts on “Somerford CIC** Report… we’re going to Osberton!!

Leave a Reply

