Hartpury British Showjumping

So I have finally bitten the bullet and joined British Showjumping for the first time ever!!  I want to get lots of competition practice in with Ali ready for next season eventing especially as she lacks some experience with being off for a lot of the summer.  It is also great for me as this is the phase I like the least and (like many eventers) get most nervous about!  We headed off to a busy show at Hartpury, which unfortunately had an even longer wait than show jumping normally does when someone had a nasty fall and it took the ambulance over 2 hours to arrive .  I decided now I was at Hartpury I may as well stay – at least it was warm indoors and the food is great!!

Todd rather bored by it all and deciding to sleep! (Eventing much more fun as get to walk the XC!!)

Todd rather bored by it all and deciding to sleep! (Eventing much more fun as get to walk the XC!!)

After having to stand on the lorry for 4 hours I took Ali out in plenty of time to stretch her legs and do a bit of flatwork (looking out of place already….), I still had time to watch a few in the Newcomers before my “support team” (thanks Mum and Alice) arrived and popped a few fences before heading down to walk the course as I was 5th in.  I was really pleased with the way she jumped and felt – she stayed so soft, balanced and rideable throughout keeping a lovely forward rhythm.  She had an unlucky (slightly lazy?) rub of the second last behind for 4 faults.  See the VIDEO HERE!

Off the camcorder so not the best quality!

Off the camcorder so not the best quality!

I decided to jump her round the Foxhunters (1.20m) as well as entries had reduced by this time so it wouldn’t take too long.  She was slightly more cocky going into the ring for the second time but I was again happy that she kept listening and let me ride her, I felt she was slightly lazy again taking the 6th behind when on a good stride but jumped around the rest well until I hooked and buried her at the last so she had no chance of jumping it clear.  I was so frustrated to have done that after managing to ride forward for the whole of the last 2 rounds!!!  She went well and felt good though so hopefully with lots of practice we can start jumping some clears and move towards BE Advanced height by the end of the winter 🙂

Off the camcorder so not the best quality!

Off the camcorder so not the best quality!

Leave a Reply

