My week “off” with Team Gauntlett!

Just had a fantastic week off work at Nick Gauntlett’s yard, Ali came with me and was rather bright all week!!  Nick was away for most of the week after his travels to the other side of the world, which meant that I could get some extra riding, in helping exercise some of the horses – great experience for me to ride lots of different types and sizes!  Also great to find that all horses have their own little quirks and ways of getting out of not working as hard as you would like (as I know well but forget when it’s your own horse!)  It is brilliant to see first hand how a top event yard runs.  I loved having the walker to cool them off (which is now on my Christmas list…. in my dreams!!)

Todd decided sleep was the best option, one late evening stables!!

Todd decided sleep was the best option, one late evening stables!!

Nick arrived back on Friday so I had a quick jumping lesson with Ali ~ who was much more relaxed than mid-week and pinged round brilliantly.  In general, she is working to a lovely contact at the moment and I was pleased that even when quite excited, I was able to get her to relax and settle to working nicely.  She had a nice hack this morning before some time in the field, which she was very pleased about!!  Back to work tomorrow and on call so she’ll have the day off tomorrow.

DSC_0045

Donovan is looking well and seems quite happy with being on box rest, such a good boy 🙂

Donovan enjoying some carrot games

Donovan enjoying some carrot games

Leave a Reply

